Haven't seen Male since eggs were laid

Home Forums Bluebird Chatter Haven't seen Male since eggs were laid

Tagged: 

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    kaiterpup
    Participant

The female has been incubating for about 10-12 days, but since the eggs were laid I haven’t seen the male at all. Is this normal, or has he left? This is my first time with bluebirds; a few months before they occupied the house I had tree swallows. The male swallow was ALWAYS around and very protective of the nest and would swoop down at me if I even came close to it (which made mowing the yard super fun). So, not seeing the bluebird male is concerning. Also, is it common for bluebirds to start making a nest in July? I thought that was also strange.
      I appreciate any feedback.
      :bluebird:

*** I did put up a sparrow spooker – would this have scared him off?

• This topic was modified 6 years, 8 months ago by kaiterpup.
      • This topic was modified 6 years, 8 months ago by kaiterpup.
      Carol – Mid-Mo.
      Participant

You have probably just missed seeing papa, but that the mama is incubating is a good sign. IF the daddy is truly gone, she will be able to raise the babies by herself, although it will be difficult – helping by feeding mealworms would be beneficial to her. It is not uncommon for the papa to seem to disappear while she is incubating, although he should be seen around some, usually guarding the nest. It is important for the mama to accept the spooker, and it apparently she has. I really believe he is still around unless you have true reason to believe otherwise. Are you able to really watch for him a lot? As far as a nest in July, my pair did have their 3rd nest in late June, and they just recently fledged about 5 days ago. Your location would determine this I imagine. P.S. Yes the TRES will definitely dive bomb you a lot more than the blues. Very common.

Lisa
        Participant