What else can I do?

Home Forums Bluebird Chatter What else can I do?

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 62 total)
  • Author
    verachuckdave
    Participant

Good morning: I am a bluebird novice, who is in need of some help. I have one bluebird house. My bluebird pair successfully raised one group of three babies this spring. I cleaned out the house, and to my delight, they returned to build a second nest. Everything was going great. I watched momma and papa work tirelessly to feed the babies all day yesterday. This morning my son found the papa bluebird dead in our front yard. I have no idea what killed him. He looked unharmed–perfect, in fact. I was heartbroken to gather his beautiful lifeless body into a box to be buried. What could have caused him to die so suddenly when there was no sign of predator attack?

I have watched the mother bird work endlessly to feed the babies. Even though I have never seen sparrows anywhere near the birdhouse, there were some hanging around this morning (now that the father is gone). The mother had to chase them away! I don’t think she has the strength to feed the babies and fight off predators. After reading advice of others, I constructed a sparrow spooker and immediately put it on top of the birdhouse. The mother has been back to feed her young, but she is a little intimidated by the spooker. Is there anything else I can do? Is there anything I can feed to the babies since she no longer has the help of her mate.

I am so upset about this situation. Any advice that any experienced “bluebirder” can share is greatly appreciated!!

Thank you in advance!
      Susan

Susan
      Pennsylvania

Carol – Mid-Mo.
      Participant