Moving bluebirds

Home Forums Bluebird Chatter Moving bluebirds

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Maybelle
    Participant

Our forecast for the coming week is beyond horrible. The forecasts are not all identical, but all are awful. One had two days at 109 and the third day with 106. For Oregon this is unreal. Our nestlings are 9 days old and we are considering moving their box to a shaded location.

So I’m wondering if anyone has done this and whether the birds accepted the new location. They still will be mighty lucky to survive, but I figured it would be one more thing we could do.

Cari
      Willamette Valley, Oregon

Carol – Mid-Mo.
      Participant

Cari, I have no experience with moving a box (only done nest changes)- have thought seriously about it but could never find a better spot to move it to without increasing chances of predators. Those temps are indeed frightening. IF you have no heat shield on the box (do you?) I would be inclined to move the box – do you have another box mounted in a more shady area that you could just move the box and not have to move the pole too? It would need to be fairly close to where it is now so the parents will find it, or else they would need to see you move it – lot to think about here. Others need to chime in quickly, as you really need to get this done soon if at all. Good luck.

dlibby
        Participant